deleting root account
if you create a root account through the users tab in setup,
after you delete it, the root entry in /etc/passwd gets removed also.
thus disabling the use of the
real root account on the system.
i have experienced this two times in a row after adding a user named root to the system using the "users" tab on the hda homepage.
#1 Updated by cpg almost 13 years ago
how did you create a "root" user??
we put some controls in place to not allow for users that already exist from being created:
#2 Updated by cpg over 12 years ago
- Status changed from New to Feedback
- Assignee set to cpg
here is a patch that fixes the issue on the server side.
however, i cannot reproduce it, even without this patch,
but somehow you managed to create it. if you could specify
Also available in: Atom