All users have write access to share even if writeable for users is not checked
If you have a share with default settings, "Permissions: All users [checked] Writeable[checked]", and then want to limit write access for users, if you uncheck "All users" first and then make per user writable settings, then in smb.conf Writeable=Yes gets stuck, but if you uncheck Writeable first and then uncheck All users, Writeable gets set to no in smb.conf
#2 Updated by jimmyh over 9 years ago
There is a workaround for this bug. Uncheck "Writeable" and "All users" for every share. Make sure to uncheck "Writeable" first and then "All users". If you want all users to have write access you just leave the settings as they are as writeable is checked default for every user. To make a share read-only for a user you just uncheck "Writeable" after the username in the share.
Also available in: Atom